events              

friday, october 13 >> 6-10pm

SECOND FRIDAY! Live music, hot cider, pumpkin spice treats & autumn cheer!

thursday, october 19 >> 7pm

LIVE PODCAST TAPING with Lumpen Radio. We'll be welcoming Tori Telfer into the 'studio' to talk about her new book LADY KILLERS. Inspired by Telfer's Jezebel column “Lady Killers,” this thrilling and entertaining compendium investigates female serial killers and their crimes through the ages. Seating is LIMITED.

When you think of serial killers throughout history, the names that come to mind are ones like Jack the Ripper, John Wayne Gacy, and Ted Bundy. But what about Tillie Klimek, Moulay Hassan, Kate Bender? The narrative we’re comfortable with is the one where women are the victims of violent crime, not the perpetrators. In fact, serial killers are thought to be so universally, overwhelmingly male that in 1998, FBI profiler Roy Hazelwood infamously declared in a homicide conference, “There are no female serial killers.”

tuesday, october 24 >> 7pm

Alain Jugnon and translator, Nathanaël,will be reading from and discussing a body in spite: a slight philosophy for actors (Nightboat Books, October 2017), "A deft book of aphorisms by an important French philosopher and writer."

Philosopher-playwright Alain Jugnon’s a body, in spite introduces this prolific French author to an English-speaking readership. The aphorisms that comprise this slight philosophy for actors are an inventoried body with and without its defenses. With incisive humor, Jugnon casts his intellect into the many-organed world, to draw from its semantic recesses a sort of divine putrescence. This work, written for the stage, and received as a presage, reads like an autobiography of Nietzsche’s last laugh. This bilingual edition features an afterword by the translator.

thursday, october 26 >> 7:30pm

BOOK CLUB!  We'll be reading M.L. Rio's novel If We Were Villains. To join, just read the book and show up! 

wednesday, november 1 >> 7pm

Kevin Coval is a poet and community builder. As the artistic director of Young Chicago Authors, founder of Louder Than A Bomb: The Chicago Youth Poetry Festival, and professor at the University of Illinois-Chicago—where he teaches hip-hop aesthetics—he’s mentored thousands of young writers, artists, and musicians.

Writing in the tradition of Howard Zinn, Kevin Coval’s A People’s History of Chicago celebrates the history of this great American city from the perspective of those on the margins, whose stories often go untold. These seventy-seven poems (for the city’s seventy-seven neighborhoods) honor the everyday lives and enduring resistance of the city’s workers, poor people, and people of color, whose cultural and political revolutions continue to shape the social landscape.

thursday, november 2 >> 7pm

Maryse Meijer will be reading from her wonderful book of stories, Heartbreaker (FSG, 2016) and she'll be joined by Bloomington-based band,Gentleman Caller, who has written a record inspired by Maryse's collection.

In her debut story collection Heartbreaker, Maryse Meijer peels back the crust of normalcy and convention, unmasking the fury and violence we are willing to inflict in the name of love and loneliness. Her characters are a strange ensemble―a feral child, a girl raised from the dead, a possible pedophile―who share in vulnerability and heartache, but maintain an unremitting will to survive. Meijer deals in desire and sex, femininity and masculinity, family and girlhood, crafting a landscape of appetites threatening to self-destruct. In beautifully restrained and exacting prose, she sets the marginalized free to roam her pages and burn our assumptions to the ground.